Looking back on my experience with learning through technology, I realise how much it’s changed and advanced over the years. I remember the early days of the slow dial-up internet and then the internet gradually becoming faster and eventually wireless over the years. Technology has transformed how we access information, collaborate with others, and engage with educational content.

Education goes beyond books and the classroom and extends to websites, videos, and online classes or lectures. Whether it’s through online courses, virtual classrooms, or interactive multimedia materials, digital learning has made learning more accessible and adaptable to diverse learning styles and needs.

In the past, technology in education was limited to occasional computer room sessions and interactive CD-ROM and floppy disc games. At least that was my experience. I remember playing fun number and alphabet games such as the magic school bus and reading blaster. I enjoyed the magic school bus games because there was a variety to choose from and it really did make learning fun.  Those games made learning enjoyable. However, many computers now lack CD drives altogether and these games are now apps on phones or iPads. I am amazed at how the graphics of these educational games have advanced over time, from simple pixelated images to immersive, lifelike simulations that engage learners in interactive learning experiences. These advancements in graphics technology have enhanced the effectiveness and appeal of digital learning tools, making them more engaging and impactful for learners of all ages.

Digital learning is important to me because I want to ensure I have the tools to help children succeed digitally in the future. As I pursue a career in education, I see how technology can make learning more engaging for kids. I believe that by using digital tools, we can create fairer opportunities for all students, no matter where they come from. In this course, I’m excited to learn more about how we can use technology to make education more inclusive and accessible. My goal is to use what I learn to ensure that every child has the chance to succeed in school and beyond.

In this course, I’m excited to learn more about how digital learning can address challenges related to equity and access. While technology has the potential to advance and assist in education, the digital divide remains a significant barrier, with disparities in internet access, device availability, and digital literacy widening educational inequalities. Bridging this gap requires collective efforts to ensure that all learners, regardless of their socioeconomic background or geographic location, have equitable access to technology and digital learning resources.

Additionally, I am keen to learn more about the ethical dimensions of digital learning and technology. As we embrace the possibilities of digital learning, it’s crucial to consider the ethical implications that accompany the use of digital platforms and technologies. The rise of social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter has introduced new challenges and concerns regarding privacy, data security, and online safety.

Leave a comment